Celebrating Science Journalists Around the World

by The Kavli Foundation

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

This year's winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

The Author

The Kavli Foundation

The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are administered annually by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The awards recognize distinguished science reporting for a general audience globally in eight categories, ranging from print newspaper and magazines to videos and children’s science news. This year’s entries were received from 54 countries. Remarking on the diversity of entries and the award winners, Sudip Parikh, CEO of AAAS and executive publisher of the Science family of journals, said “these talented and diverse winners highlight the critical importance of informed journalism both on urgent issues of the day ― a global pandemic, the crisis of climate change ― and on efforts to understand nature at its most basic, from the complexity of the human immune system to the surprising behavior of slime molds.”

Below is the list of the top winners in each category. Read the full list of winners at the AAAS website.

Large Outlet (circulation of 150,000 or more)

Lauren Weber, Laura Ungar, Hannah Recht, Anna Maria Barry-Jester and Michelle R. Smith
Kaiser Health News and The Associated Press

Small Outlet (circulation of 150,000 or less)

Geoffrey Kamadi
Science Africa (Kenya)

In-Depth (More than 5,000 words)

Ed Yong
The Atlantic


Amy Maxmen

Video Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less)

Jes Burns
Oregon Public Broadcasting

Video In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes)

Bill Haney
Uncommon Productions for PBS Independent Lens


Wendy Zukerman, Rose Rimler, Meryl Horn, Michelle Dang and Blythe Terrell
Science Vs (from Gimlet Media)

Children’s Science News

Tracy Vonder Brink
Click Magazine

Read More