Prize Committees 2008

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees are  provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process. The 2008 panels:

Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Professor Reinhard Genzel
    Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics
    Garching, Germany
  • Professor Wallace L.W. Sargent
    California Institute of Technology
    Pasadena, California – United States
  • Professor Harvey Tananbaum
    Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
    Cambridge, Massachusetts – United States
  • Professor Scott Tremaine
    Institute for Advanced Study
    Princeton, New Jersey – United States
  • Professor Oddbjørn Engvold (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Professor Chunli Bai
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, Institute of
    Beijing, China
  • Professor Mostafa A El-Sayed
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    Atlanta, Georgia – United States
  • Professor Klaus von Klitzing
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Professor Cherry Murray
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
    Livermore, California – United States
  • Professor Arne Skjeltorp (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Professor Linda Buck
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
    Seattle, Washington – United States
  • Professor Jean-Pierre Changeux
    Institute Pasteur
    Paris, France
  • Professor Eric Kandel
    Columbia University
    New York, New York – United States
  • Professor Bert Sakmann
    Max Planck Institute for Medical Research
    Heidelberg, Germany
  • Professor Jon Storm-Mathisen (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway

Organization Committees

The Kavli Prize Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is jointly appointed by The Kavli Foundation, the Norwegian Academy, and the Ministry of Education and Research. This Committee plans the events, assigned responsibilities, and coordinated the interactions between the three parties.

The 2008 Planning Committee:

  • Fred Kavli, Chairman, The Kavli Foundation
  • David Auston, President, The Kavli Foundation
  • Karen Nossum Bie, Director of Department, the Ministry of Education and Research
  • Vivil Haraldsen, Senior Executive Officer, the Ministry of Education and Research
  • Reidun Sirevåg, Secretary General, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Anne-Marie Aastad, Information Adviser, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Øyvind Sørensen, Project Manager, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Eirik Lislerud, Senior Executive Officer, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

The Kavli Prize Oversight Committee

The Oversight Committee reviews the entire prize process at intervals of no less than four years and recommend changes as needed.

This committee will be appointed later.

The Kavli Prize Symposia

The Symposia Committee

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters organizes three inaugural Kavli Symposia as part of the events surrounding the award ceremony. These lectures encompass the scope and breadth of each of the scientific fields, and the lecturers are internationally renowned scientists.

The 2008 Symposia Committee:

  • Professor Mats Carlsson
  • Professor Yuri Galperin
  • Professor Edvard Moser
  • Professor Jon Storm-Mathisen
  • Professor Thomas Tybell

back to top