Bookmark and Share

Recent News

11/18/2009 - Ooguri Receives Nishina Memorial Prize

(Originally published by California Institute of Technology)

Novemeber 18, 2009

Hirosi Ooguri

Hirosi Ooguri, Caltech's Fred Kavli Professor of Theoretical Physics, has been named the recipient of the 2009 Nishina Memorial Prize, the oldest and most prestigious physics award in Japan. Since 1955, the Nishina Memorial Foundation has awarded the prize annually, and past winners include four Nobel laureates in physics. The award ceremony will take place on December 4 in Tokyo. 

Ooguri was selected for his research on topological string theory, which the foundation describes as "an important step toward realizing physicists' dream to show that superstring theory unifies general relativity and quantum mechanics." For more information, go to the Nishina Memorial Foundation website.

Original press release.

Return to News Listings