AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism for a general audience.

Administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and endowed by the Foundation in 2009, these independently juried awards have honored distinguished reporting on science by professional journalists since 1945. The selection of winners is made by panels of journalists who judge the work of their peers. Awards have gone to some of the nation’s most distinguished writers and broadcasters, including Natalie Angier, Paula Apsell, Jeremy Bernstein, Jerry Bishop, Deborah Blum, Henry S.F. Cooper, Timothy Ferris, Atul Gawande, Elizabeth Kolbert, Walter Sullivan, Earl Ubell and John Noble Wilford.

Awards are given internationally for reporting in the following media: Print (Large Newspaper-Circulation of 100,000 or more; Small Newspaper-Circulation less than 100,000; Magazine), Television (Spot News/Feature Reporting - 20 minutes or less; In-Depth Reporting - more than 20 minutes); Audio; Online; and Children's News. The awards are presented at a special ceremony held during each year's AAAS Annual Meeting.