2016 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process.The panels for 2016:

Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Mats Carlsson (Chair)
    Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, UiO
    Oslo, Norway
  • Claude Canizares
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, Massachusetts – United States
  • Paola Caselli
    Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics
    Garaching, Germany
  • Carlos S. Frenk
    Durham University
    England, UK
  • Fiona Harrison
    California Institute of Technology
    Pasadena, California – United States

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Arne Brataas (Chair)
    The Norwegian University of Science and Technology
    Trondheim, Norway
  • Mildred Dresselhaus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    – United States
  • Laura Greene
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Urbana-Champaign, Illinois - United States
  • Jochem Mannhart
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Ke Lu
    Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences
    Shenyang, China

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Ole Petter Ottersen (Chair)
    Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience,UiO
    Oslo, Norway
  • Cornelia Bargmann
    The Rockefeller University
    New York City, New York – United States
  • Susan McConnell
    Stanford University
    Stanford, Calfornia - United States
  • Erwin Neher
    MPI for Biophysical Chemistry
    Göttingen, Germany
  • Antoine Triller
    Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure
    Paris, France

back to top