2010 Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process.The panels for 2010:

Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Professor Oddbjørn Engvold (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway
  • Professor Andrew Fabian
    University of Cambridge
    Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Professor Reinhard Genzel
    Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics
    Garching, Germany
  • Professor Joseph Silk
    University of Oxford
    Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Professor Scott Tremaine
    Institute for Advanced Study
    Princeton, New Jersey – United States

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Professor Paul Alivisatos
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
    Livermore, California – United States
  • Professor Mostafa A El-Sayed
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    Atlanta, Georgia – United States
  • Professor Jianguo Hou
    Hefei National Laboratory for the Physical Sciences
    Anhui, China
  • Professor Klaus von Klitzing
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Professor Arne Skjeltorp (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Professor Tobias Bonhoeffer
    Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology
    Planegg, Germany
  • Professor Jean-Pierre Changeux
    Institute Pasteur
    Paris, France
  • Professor Eric Kandel
    Columbia University
    New York, New York – United States
  • Professor Jon Storm-Mathisen (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway
  • Professor Charles F. Stevens
    Salk Institute
    La Jolla, California – United States

Organization Committees

The Kavli Prize Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is jointly appointed by The Kavli Foundation, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and the Ministry of Education and Research. This Committee plans the events, assigns responsibilities and coordinates the interactions between the three parties.

The 2010 Planning Committee:

  • Fred Kavli, Chairman, The Kavli Foundation
  • Robert W. Conn, President, The Kavli Foundation
  • Live Haaland, Deputy Director General. Ministry of Education and Research
  • Marthe Nordtug, Adviser, Norwegian Ministry of Education & Research
  • Øivind Andersen, Secretary General, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Anne-Marie Aastad, Information Adviser, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Øyvind Sørensen, Project Manager, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • Eirik Lislerud, Senior Executive Officer, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

The Kavli Prize Oversight Committee

The Oversight Committee reviews the entire prize process at intervals of no less than four years and recommends changes as needed.

This committee to be appointed later.

The Kavli Prize Symposia

The Symposia Committee

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters organizes three inaugural Kavli Symposia as part of the events surrounding the award ceremony. These lectures encompass the scope and breadth of each of the scientific fields, and the lecturers will be internationally renowned scientists.

The 2010 Symposia Committee:

  • Professor Mats Carlsson
  • Professor Yuri Galperin
  • Professor Edvard Moser
  • Professor Jon Storm-Mathisen
  • Professor Thomas Tybell

back to top