Henry T. Yang

Henry T. YangHenry T. Yang was named the chancellor of the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1994. He is also a professor of mechanical engineering, and teaches an undergraduate engineering course each year. He is currently guiding four Ph.D. students with support from National Science Foundation grants. He was formerly the Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University, where he also served as the dean of engineering for ten years.

Dr. Yang has authored or co-authored more than 170 articles for scientific journals, served as P.I. or co-P.I. for 32 sponsored research grants, guided 53 Ph.D. theses, and received 13 outstanding undergraduate teaching awards. His book Finite Element Structural Analysis, published by Prentice-Hall, has been adopted by many universities and has also been published in Japanese and Chinese editions.

He has served on scientific advisory boards for the Department of Defense, U.S. Air Force, U.S. Navy, NASA, and National Science Foundation. He currently chairs the Association of Pacific Rim Universities, and is immediate past chair of the Association of American Universities. He also serves on the President’s Committee for the National Medal of Science and the Kavli Foundation board, and is chairman of the board for the Thirty Meter Telescope project.

Dr. Yang has received a number of recognitions for his research, teaching, and public service, including the Benjamin Garver Lamme gold medal from the American Society of Engineering Education; the 2008 AIAA Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Award; and six honorary doctorates. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of AIAA, ASEE, and ASME.