About the Kavli Prize

“The Kavli Prizes recognize three scientific areas we believe are exceptionally exciting in the 21st Century and at the brink of remarkable discoveries – astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Created to honor, support and recognize scientists whose work have had a profound impact in these areas, through these Prizes we also hope to raise people's awareness of the benefits of basic science in their own lives.” — Fred Kavli, founder of The Kavli Foundation

Science prizes for the 21st century, the Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Consisting of a scroll, medal and cash award of one million dollars, a prize in each of these areas is awarded every two years beginning in 2008.

prize signature

Jan Fridthjof Bernt, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Kristin Clemet, the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research, and Fred Kavli (L to R) sign a partnership agreement establishing the Kavli Prizes.(Photo: Tor Richardsen/Scanpix)

The Kavli Prizes are presented in cooperation and partnership with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. The prizes are awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway – Kavli's native country – with the President of the Norwegian Academy presiding.

Independent of The Kavli Foundation, Kavli Prize recipients are chosen by three prize committees comprised of distinguished international scientists recommended by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Max Planck Society, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and The Royal Society. After making their selection for Award recipients, the recommendations of these prize committees are confirmed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

To learn more about the Kavli Prize, please go to www.kavliprize.no.

The Kavli Prize for Astrophysics - Medal

Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is awarded for outstanding achievement in advancing our knowledge and understanding of the origin, evolution and properties of the universe, and includes the fields of cosmology, astrophysics, astronomy, planetary science, solar physics, space science, astrobiology, astronomical and astrophysical instrumentation, and particle astrophysics.


The Kavli Prize for Nanoscience - Medal

Kavli Prize in Nanoscience

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is awarded for outstanding achievement in the science and application of the unique physical, chemical and biological properties of atomic, molecular, macromolecular and cellular structures and systems manifested in the nanometer scale. This includes molecular self-assembly, nanomaterials, nanoscale instrumentation, nanobiotechnology, macromolecular synthesis, molecular mechanics and related topics.

The Kavli Prize for Neuroscience - Medal

Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is awarded for outstanding achievement in advancing our knowledge and understanding of the brain and nervous system, including molecular neuroscience, cellular neuroscience, systems neuroscience, neurogenetics, developmental neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, computational neuroscience and related facets of the brain and nervous system.