2014 Kavli Prize Committees

2014 Kavli Prize

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process.The panels for 2014:

Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Claude Canizares
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    United States
  • Mats Carlsson (Chair)
    University of Oslo
  • Carlos S. Frenk
    Durham University
    United Kingdom
  • Guinevière Kauffmann
    Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics
  • Claire Max
    University of California, Santa Cruz
    United States

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Arne Brataas (Chair)
    Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Mildred Dresselhaus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    United States
  • Evelyn Hu
    Harvard University
    United States
  • Klaus Kern
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
  • Xie Yi
    University of Science and Technology

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Cornelia Bargmann
    The Rockefeller University
    United States
  • Stanislas Dehaene
    National Institute of Health and Medical Research
  • Lily Jan
    University of California, San Francisco
    United States
  • Erwin Neher
    Max Planck Institute of Biological Chemistry
  • Ole Petter Ottersen (Chair)
    University of Oslo

back to top