2010 Kavli Prize Science Forum

"The Role of International Cooperation in Science"
September 6, 2010
Gamle Festsal – Oslo University, Norway

 Jonas Gahr StøreOpening remarks were presented by Jonas Gahr Støre, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Norway

The Kavli Prize Science Forum is a biennial international forum to facilitate high-level, global discussion of major topics on science and science policy. It was established in partnership by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

Focusing on "The Role of International Cooperation in Science," global leaders in shaping science policy joined keynote speakers John P. Holdren, Science Advisor to President Barack Obama and Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, and Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, the first Secretary General of the European Research Council and now the Secretary General of the Human Frontier Science Program. With Charles M. Vest, President of the US National Academy of Engineering, serving as moderator, the panel discussion includes:

Keynote Speakers


John P. HoldrenJohn P. Holdren, Science Advisor to President Barack Obama and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, and Co-Chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). Prior to joining the Obama administration Dr. Holdren was Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy and Director of the Program on Science, Technology, and Public Policy at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government, as well as professor in Harvard's Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences and Director of the independent, nonprofit Woods Hole Research Center. During the Clinton administration, Dr. Holdren served as a member of PCAST through both terms and in that capacity chaired studies requested by President Clinton on preventing theft of nuclear materials, disposition of surplus weapon plutonium, the prospects of fusion energy, U.S. energy R&D strategy, and international cooperation on energy-technology innovation. (Additional information)

Ernst-Ludwig WinnackerErnst-Ludwig Winnacker, Secretary General of the International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO). Prior to joining HFSPO, he was the first Secretary General of the European Research Council (ERC), where he played a crucial role in setting up this innovative agency for fostering basic research in Europe. Before joining the ERC he spent 9 years as President of the German Research Foundation (DFG). There, he was instrumental in promoting scientific excellence at an international level and in improving research opportunities for women and junior scientists. In both the ERC and the DFG, he has been a strong supporter of interdisciplinary approaches to scientific research. (Additional information)

Program and Panel Moderator

Charles M. VestCharles M. Vest is President of the National Academy of Engineering and President Emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. As president of MIT, he was active in science, technology, and innovation policy; building partnerships among academia, government and industry; and championing open, global scientific communication, travel, and the sharing of intellectual resources. In 2006, he was awarded the National Medal of Technology by US President George W. Bush. (Additional information)



Ralph CiceroneRalph J. Cicerone is President of the National Academy of Sciences and Chair of the National Research Council. His research in atmospheric chemistry, climate change and energy has involved him in shaping science and environmental policy at the highest levels nationally and internationally. (Additional information)


Ichiro KanazawaIchiro Kanazawa is President of the Science Council of Japan.Since 2002 he has been Professor Emeritus at the University of Tokyo, and Consultant Medical Doctor for Royal Families. He has served as President at National Center of Neurology and Psychiatry since 2003, and has also been President Emeritus since 2007. (Additional information)


Steven E. KooninSteven E. Koonin is Under Secretary for Science at the US Department of Energy. Dr. Koonin's background includes a distinguished career as a university professor and administrator at the California Institute of Technology, where he was a professor of theoretical physics, Chairman of the Faculty and Provost – a position he held from 1995 – 2004. In 2004, he became Chief Scientist at BP, where until early 2009 he developed the company’s long-range technology strategy for alternative and renewable energy sources.  (Additional information)


Yongxiang LuYongxiang Lu is President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Vice-Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, Chairman of the CAS Presidium, Vice-Chairman of the Academic Degrees Committee of the State Council, President of the Chinese Mechanical Engineering Society and Professor of Zhejiang University. (Additional information)


Martin ReesMartin Rees is President of the Royal Society; Master of Trinity College, University of Cambridge; and Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics, University of Cambridge. He was appointed Astronomer Royal in 1995, and was nominated to the House of Lords in 2005 as a cross-bench peer. He was appointed a member of the Order of Merit in 2007. (Additional information)


Nils Christian StensethNils Christian Stenseth is President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and a biologist with a focus on ecology and evolution. He is the leader of the Centre for Ecological and Evolutionary Synthesis (CEES) at the University of Oslo. He is also the Chief Scientist at the Norwegian Institute of Marine Research in Norway. (Additional information)